Interview with IFBB Men’s Physique Competitor: Helsho Bolbasi

Men’s Physique Competitor Helsho Bolbasi loves every second he spends in the gym, and it shows! This young Norwegian Competitor has a big appetite and big ambitions. Keep your eyes on him as he prepares to land his Pro Card this time next year.

  • Hometown: Bergen, Norway
  • Current Location: Fredrikstad, Norway
  • Height: 5’7’’
  • Stage Weight: 154 lbs
  • Off Season Weight: 185 lbs
  • Age: 22
  • Favorite Cheat Meal: Homemade Hamburger
  • Favorite Style of Cardio: Morning Cardio (Powerwalking)

Social Media
Instagram: Fitnesshelsho

For those unfamiliar with you, can you tell us a bit about your background and how you got involved in the fitness industry?

I’ve always been a very active person. I used to play football, but my career was cut short due to a knee injury when I was 15. I refused to let that stop me, so I started to build myself up again and started working out at a local gym. This is when I really discovered fitness, and a whole new world opened up to me.

1

Now I love every second that I spend in the gym!

What is your current occupation?

I’m a student, group instructor and personal trainer.

Are you currently sponsored?

I have teamed up with BODYPOWER, a company from Sweden, which I am really excited about.

What’s the one thing you look forward to treating yourself to after a competition?

After I’ve been on a diet for 4-5 months, I kind of want to eat everything! (Laughs) But the very first thing I want is homemade hamburger!

What’s the one food you couldn’t live without? And as it gets closer out to a competition, how do you handle cravings?

The one food I could not live without is definitely a hamburger! I’ve actually never been very fond of sugar and sweets, so that’s not a big problem during contest prep. As I get closer to a show, I struggle more with hunger in general, and I want to eat more healthy food.

The food I crave the most is bread! Dieting is extremely hard, but I’ve been living the fitness lifestyle for about 5 years now. I’ve become stronger mentally, and I am very disciplined all year round, so I use my mental ability to push through the hunger.

5

2

When the cravings kick in, I just remind myself of how far I have come and not how far I have to go!

What’s your favorite exercise and why?

My favorite exercise is cable chest flys. For me, cable chest flys are the best for my chest because it allows me to really stretch my chest, and I get a good squeeze at the end.

Do you and your girlfriend, Silje Katrine Dahlby train together?

When we first met, we used to train together several times a week, but for now we have different training programs because we have different goals. Silje is a bikini competitor and doesn’t want to gain too much muscle mass in her upper body, while that’s what I’m focusing on. But once in a while we will train legs together.

Helsho’s Training Schedule

Monday: Arms/Legs/Abs (Quad Focus)

Tuesday: Chest/Back/Shoulders

Wednesday: Arms/Legs/Abs (Hamstring Focus)

Thursday: Back/Shoulders/Chest

Friday: Arms/Abs/Legs (Full)

Saturday: Shoulders/Chest/Back

Sunday: Recovery

Helsho’s Typical Diet

  • Meal 1: 5 Eggs (4 Egg Whites and 1 Whole Egg), ¼ Cup Oats, 1 Tablespoon Nuts, ½ Tablespoon Chia Seeds and 1 Scoop Whey
  • Meal 2: 9 Ounces Chicken, ¼ Cup Rice and 7 Ounces Mixed Vegetables
  • Meal 3: 9 Ounces Chicken, ¼ Cup Rice and 7 Ounces Mixed Vegetables
  • Meal 4: 9 Ounces Chicken, ¼ Cup Rice and 7 Ounces Mixed Vegetables
  • Post Workout: 3 Rice Cakes and 1 Scoop Protein
  • Meal 6: 14 ½ Ounces Cod, ¼ Cup Rice and 7 Ounces Mixed Vegetables

It depends on how much time I have in the morning, sometimes I have a shake, other times I add protein powder to my oatmeal. Lately, I’ve been blending the powder with milk and drinking it as a shake.

What supplements could we find in your kitchen?

My supplements vary depending on if I’m prepping or in off season. But these are the supplements I use year round:

  • Protein
  • BCCA’s
  • Multivitamin
  • Fish Oil
  • ZMA
  • Casein

Where do you see yourself this time next year?

If everything goes as planned; I’m going to be competing for my Pro-Card this time next year.

3

 

What is your favorite place to travel to and why?

My favorite place to travel is Paris. I’m very interested in art, and Paris is all about art. I’ve been there once before, and I would love to go back again one day!

A very special thank you goes out to Shepol Lopehs, who made this interview possible.

Did you love this interview? Leave a comment below and share it with your friends. Thanks!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here