Interview with Bikini Competitor and Magnum Athlete: Kayle Simpson

Meet Magnum Athlete and Bikini Competitor Kayle Simpson. Kayle is a fun loving ambitious Bikini Competitor who is always on the go. Kayle takes her competing, meal prep and scholastics very seriously. Get to know Kayle and find out how she keeps the momentum going!

  • Hometown: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
  • Current Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
  • Height: 5’3”
  • Weight: 112 lbs
  • Age: 21
  • Favorite Style Cardio: Biking or Running Outdoors
  • Favorite Lipstick: MAC Studded Kiss in Matte

Websites and Social Media
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kayle.simpson
Athlete Page: https://www.facebook.com/magnumkayle/?fref=ts
Instagram: @kaylesalad
Snapchat: kaylepimpson

For those unfamiliar with you, can you tell us a bit about your background and how you got involved in the fitness industry?

I have always been an extremely active person and love all sports. In high school, I was in a soccer academy where I trained and played every day, I cheered for an All-Star cheerleading club, and I played on my school’s soccer and volleyball team. In University, I continued to play soccer for fun and to cheer competitively.

During my second year, a knee injury caused me to step back from sports. I knew I couldn’t stop being active, so I got a gym membership. I started working out regularly to stay in shape and speed up my recovery, and I fell in love with weight training.

otYwE_lZBuxwCKOY-PuAufeFKqab5Y2S7LdO3powu74

Two summers ago, I decided to go for it! I hired a coach to help me with my prep. I ended up winning my first show, and I have been in love with competing and the lifestyle ever since!

What are you currently taking in college, and are you involved in any extra-curricular activities?

I am currently taking my Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology, and I absolutely love it. I am a math and science nerd, and have a passion for sports, training and nutrition, so it totally suits me.

I joined a sorority in my first year, so I could gain leadership and volunteer experience; it was one of the best decisions I made in college. A sorority is not at all what the media often portrays it to be. My sorority really emphasizes scholastics, leadership, volunteering and community involvement; it has really made me grow as a person. We have such a diverse group of ambitious women, from student doctors, lawyers, politicians, and even another bikini competitor! It’s very inspiring to constantly be surrounded by such an amazing group of women.

I’m a board member on the Spinal Cord Injury Treatment Center Society, a Society whose mission is to improve quality of life for people with spinal cord injuries. I don’t take my health for granted. And I’m very passionate about creating opportunities for everyone to be healthy. We have placed multiple FES rowing machines in community exercise centers, so people with spinal cord injuries can exercise using the help of electrode which stimulate the muscles that they cannot move voluntarily.

Weight training has greatly improved my knee injury and now, I can enjoy playing sports again! Currently, I am playing on a volleyball team, and if there are any sporting events in the Greek community, I am in! (Laughs)

Are your family and friends supportive of your fitness lifestyle?

Oh my gosh; they are amazing! My family is incredibly supportive; they come to my shows to cheer me on. My mom has come to each one of my competitions and has travels with me. She takes lots of pictures and really gets into it, trying to learn as much as she can. My boyfriend is also a big support system for me. He is a competitive powerlifter, so we share similar lifestyles and talk to each other about everything to do with training, eating and competing!

My friends are amazing too! They have helped me with everything from show hair and makeup to scrubbing spray tan off my suit for me. During my last prep, I lived at my sorority house; they are used to me constantly whipping out my food scale and being at the gym. All of my friends are very supportive and they always cheer me on! My training days would also not be half as bright if it weren’t for the staff and members at my regular gym. Everyone is so friendly, warm and supportive; they always make my day!

What do you enjoy most about this lifestyle?

I love how it has spilled over into every area of my life. Getting healthier has made me feel so much better on the inside, and I have become a happier person on the outside too! I have a lot more confidence.

11834776_1645643299014635_5476358944990567418_o

The discipline I’ve learned from competing can be applied to any area of my life, and that makes me feel unstoppable!

How did you become involved with Magnum Nutraceuticals? And tell us a little bit about the demos and what you love most about them?

When Magnum reached out to me this past spring on social media, I was ecstatic! I had been using their products, and I admired their athletes. It was evident by their social media that they hire people who exude passion and positive energy. They didn’t approach me just because I had won my first show, but it was after their brand manager saw my post on social media. I had shared my story and sent out a very positive message. After speaking with Magnum’s president, Markus Kaulius, and hearing his story, and his purpose for the company, I just knew we were a perfect fit!

I love being a part of the product demos. I sample out my favorite products, inform customers about them and help them find products to reach their goals. Sometimes, I even practice my baking skills a bit and bring Quattro protein treats for customers to try!

rWECOHVEQYVkJsY_BtHHULrU-JX1YUBWfxczfqNpSKE

It is so easy to vouch for Magnum products because their quality is unmatched!

My favorite thing is seeing so many customers trusting in Magnum products and seeing a first-time customer come back to me with a rave review. It makes me very proud and happy to be involved with Magnum!

What Magnum products are you currently using?

Kayle’s Current Muscle Building Stack (Off Season)

Morning

  • Primer
  • Quattro
  • Performance Greens

Pre Workout

  • Big C
  • DNA
  • Volume
  • Opus or Limitless

Intra Workout

  • Opus
  • Hi5

Post Workout

  • Big C
  • DNA
  • Hi5
  • G
  • Quattro

Before Bed

  • G-Spring
  • G

Kayle’s Training Schedule

Monday: Quads/Glutes/Shoulders

  • Front Squats 5 x 5-7
  • Barbell Reverse Lunges 4 x 8
  • Banded Hip Thrusters 4 x 6
  • Leg Extensions 4 x 8-10
  • Arnold Press 4 x 6-8
  • Dumbbell Lateral Raises 4 x 6-8
  • Face Pulls 4 x 8-10

Tuesday: Back/Biceps

  • Pendlay Rows 4 x 6
  • Seated Cable Row (Close grip) 4 x 6
  • Lat Pulldowns 4 x 8
  • Dumbbell Rows 4 x 8
  • Chin Ups 4 x Failure

Wednesday: Hamstrings/Glutes/Shoulders

  • Sumo Deadlifts 5 x 6
  • Glute Kickbacks (Using Leg Curl Machine) 4 x 10
  • Seated Leg Curl 4 x 8-10
  • Weighted Calf Raises 4 x 12
  • Seated Barbell Shoulder Press 4 x 4-6
  • One Arm Cable Lateral Raises 4 x 6-8
  • Rear Delt Rows 4 x 8-10

Thursday: Back/Chest/Triceps

  • Pull Ups (Assisted) 4 x 6-8
  • Close Grip Lat Pulldown 4 x 6
  • One Arm Pulldown (Using Machine) 4 x 12
  • Pull Up (Negatives) 4 x 6-8
  • Push Ups (Bench) 4 x 12
  • Close Grip Barbell Bench Press 4 x 4-6
  • Dips (Assisted) 4 x 6-8
  • Dumbbell Overhead Extension 4 x 8

Friday: Legs/Glutes/Shoulders

  • Back Squats 5 x 6
  • Leg Press 4 x 4-6
  • Cable Kickbacks 4 x 15
  • Leg Extension 4 x 8-10
  • Seated Leg Curl 4 x 8-10
  • Dumbbell Shoulder Press 4 x 6-8
  • One Arm Dumbbell Lateral Raises 4 x 6-8
  • Rear Delt Flys 4 x 8-10

Saturday: Cardio

Sunday: Recovery

What’s your favorite exercise and why?

Sumo Deadlifts, because I can lift the heaviest amount of weight with this lift; this is very satisfying and makes me feel strong!

What does your current diet look like?

My diet is not exclusive. I hit target goals for fats, proteins and carbs every day, and I try to eat a wide variety of foods and lots of vegetables. Typically, I will have meals 2-5 prepped in advance. I eat breakfast at home, and my last meal at home. My last meal of the day fulfills my macronutrient goals; this gives me a little leeway in case I want to have a small treat during the day, all I do is adjust my final meal accordingly.

11896188_1647107148868250_6780055306174888339_n

Kayle’s Typical Diet

  • Meal 1: (Pre-workout) ½ Cup Oats, ½ Cup Egg Whites, 1 Scoop Greens, ½ Scoop Protein, 2 Bananas and 2 Tablespoons Margarine
  • Meal 2: (Post-workout) 2 Cups Cereal, 1 Cup Cashew Milk and 1 Scoop Protein
  • Meal 3: 1 ¼ Cups Quinoa, 2 ½ Ounces Extra Lean Ground Beef, 4 Ounces Zucchini and Bell Peppers and ½ tsp Olive Oil
  • Meal 4: 7 Ounces Yams, 5 Ounces Spaghetti Squash, 2 ½ Ounces Extra Lean Ground Turkey and ½ Tablespoon Coconut Oil
  • Meal 5: 3 ¼ Ounces Whole Wheat Pasta, 1 ¾ Ounces Chicken, 4 Ounces Mixed Italian Vegetables and 1 Tablespoon Pesto
  • Meal 6: 1 Cup Oats, 1 Tablespoon Cocoa Powder and 1 ½ Tablespoon Almond Butter

i54MV9TqCW4PQxPNMYIe4UO64Q_ODzyLbNbP6SY3qX8

Meal 1 is blended into a pancake, topped with margarine and one banana.

What’s the one food you couldn’t live without?

Fruit! I have always loved it. There is nothing like fresh fruit. I am always stopping by the grocery store on the way home to make sure I have berries and bananas!

Do you have an occasional cheat meal?

I usually allow myself to have reasonable amounts of ‘whatever’ I am craving. Ice cream and frozen yogurt tend to make their way into my diet. For a big ‘treat’ meal out, I love Italian food, fresh bread with butter, and a big bowl of pasta or a fresh Neapolitan pizza!

What’s something that not many people know about you?

My parents made up my name after I was born; it means ‘Friendly Happiness’ in Gaelic.

Do you have any special beauty tips you’d like to share?

A lot of people ask me how I keep my teeth so white. I use a whitening mouthwash, Listerine Healthy White Restoring, every night. I find it works really well, without causing any sensitivity. Before an event, I brush my teeth with baking soda which gives my teeth a super-white look.

NVDDK2EUeL0DWn1o36LjSw1DEV6Gm0SdTt_fkzCJ8bY

Also, drink lots of water; your hair, skin and body will thank you! I drink 4-6 Liters a day.

What are your hobbies and interests outside of the fitness industry?

I love music. I am always singing in the car and in the house, and I love to sing and play along on the piano. I love to read, but it can be hard to find the time to sit down and read for pleasure with my full course schedule, so I listen to audio books. I download audiobooks and listen to them on my phone while walking to class, driving, cleaning, doing cardio, etc.

I also love playing board games and cards. I have a few friends who share this interest with me; we’ll get together and play. And at every family reunion, my family has a tradition of having a giant Canasta tournament.

Did you love this interview? Leave a comment below and share it with your friends. Thanks!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here